Peanut Butter Protein Bombs

Let me tell you, these things are the bomb.com, they seriously are fabulous. They’re full of all kinds of healthy goodies and they’re rather tasty! I got this recipe from a friend and I modified it just a little bit, so feel free to tweet it to your liking as well! I did a super rough estimate of calories-per-ball, but I got that they’re a little over 100 calories a ball. They’re definitely not something to eat in excess, but 2 or 3 as a pre/post workout snack on the go, I think they’re perfect!

IMG_4097

They kind of remind me of peanut butter no-bakes, but they’re not quite as fabulous. Close, but not quite. But they do have omega-3’s, fiber, and protein so they are at least kind of good for you.

Chia and flax seeds are a very “trendy” health food; they’re kind of all the rage right now. So before you invest in the big $10+ bag of seeds, look up some other recipes to test out! I have a few more that I’m planning on testing out soon, too, so stay tuned for that.

What you will need:

1 c. dry oatmeal

2/3 c. coconut flakes (sweetened or unsweetened, whatever you prefer)

1/2 c. peanut butter (you could sub this for sunbutter or almond butter, as well)

1/2 c. ground flax seed

1/4 c. chocolate chips

1/3 c. honey

1 tbs chia seeds

1 tsp vanilla

The directions are simple, mix all the ingredients together, I used my Kitchen Aid standing mixer with a paddle attachment. Then I used a small cookie scooper to measure out the balls, and I rolled them between my hands and put them in the tupperware and stored them in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

