Be Still, but Keep Moving

IMG_9973.JPG                             The phrase “Be still, but keep moving” is something that God showed me in the middle of October, and it’s something that has been resonating with me for the past few months. Being still doesn’t mean staying still. Being still means trusting in God and trusting where He leads you. And sometimes God tells us to move. Get up and move, run, sprint out of your comfort zone. Chase after the things that seemed impossible, pursue the ideas and opportunities that scare you. Speak publicly about the things you want to hide. Embrace the people who you want to avoid. Teach at a summer camp for 10 weeks in a city I’ve never heard of? Sure. Start training for a full marathon? Bring it on. Speak of your battle with anorexia and bulimia in front of hundreds of eyes? Let it bring You glory. But be still. Still your nerves, your anxieties, your worries. Silence the lies, the schemes, the doubters. Be still and know that He is God. In the good, in the bad, know that He will still send shooting stars, He will send His flaming arrows and scatter the enemy. He will give you rest, and peace, and draw close when you are crushed in spirits. Being still means trusting that His promise is true, and believing that He will do what He says He will. Knowing that the One who has started a good work in you, will see it to completion (Phil 1:6).

But being still, does not always mean staying still. We trust in Him, we trust that He will protect us and go with us (Ex 14:14). So even in the midst of chaos, we still look to Him and say “send me”. Send me because I am your servant and I am willing to move. I know that You will fight for me, so I will boldly go where You call. God leads those who He has redeemed, He guides them to His Holy dwelling, the place where He planned for us to be all along, and He does so be strengthening us for the journey He knows is ahead (2 Cor. 1:4). Another aspect of this process, is that we must constantly be pursuing the child that He planned for us to be. Just as we are seeking opportunities to serve Him, we should also be seeking ways that we can become more like Him. Rather than staying still, and being passive, lukewarm, or content, we must be children in relentless pursuit of our Creator. Constantly seeking a renewed mind, a greater knowledge, and a deeper relationship with the One who loves you more than you could ever imagine.

This is a daily process and a daily choice. God has been training me to be still, and be the exact opposite all at once. Anxiety is something that could easily keep me from pursuing God’s will for me. My anxiety manifests itself most frequently in social anxiety and feelings of inadequacy. But I praise a God who not only leads me, but walks beside me. A God who is for me and a God who is with me, so I will fear nothing. Friends, if you are battling anxiety, if you are fighting the lies of the Enemy, take heart, for He has overcome this world. Mental illness is a very deadly disease, because it will quickly infect every aspect of your life if you leave it untreated. I urge you, sweet friends, to fight the good fight and take hold of the life that you were not only called to, but actually made for (1 Timothy 6:12 and Ephesians 2:10).

Be still, but keep moving. Still your anxious minds, your doubtful thoughts. Taking every thought captive, and dwelling on those which are pure, true, and lovely (2 Cor 10:5 and Phil 6:8). But stay in relentless pursuit, sweet friends. Keep moving, growing, and changing. Being made anew in Christ Jesus, to the point that we look, act, and think just like Him. I am independent, yet fully dependent on Christ.

I am so thankful for the past few weeks. I was able to spend some time at home with family, traveling over the holidays. I was very fortunate to be surrounded by pals who love me and care for me, who are willing to play 20 games of Catan, consume nearly lethal doses of caffeine and Comfy Cow ice cream, and just talk about nothing for hours on end. I am excited to announce that I signed my contract and I will officially be working at Camp Crestridge this summer as a counselor for 10 weeks. I have started my second to last semester at the University of Kentucky, and I am so eager for what the next few months will hold and all that I will learn. I am so fortunate to have found a degree that excites me, and be pursuing a career that I would genuinely describe as my “dream job”. God is so rad, y’all. I am reminded daily by just how great His love is for me, and just how big His plans are for me. Until next time, I pray what Paul prayed for the Ephesians, that “the eyes of your heart may be enlightened so you may know of the hope of His calling…. and the immeasurable greatness of His power to us who believe.” (Ephesians 1:15-19)

Leave a Reply

